“Taking time to write”


It seems morning is the best time to write for me. At 6:00 a.m. I am well rested and the house is quite, or at least until 8:00 a.m. when my daughter and granddaughter arrive for work. You see, we own a family business and there is always something going on in this busy household of ours.

The phones start ringing,the dogs start barking, and my sweet one and a half year old granddaughter, such a busy little girl keeps me on my toes. So, I put my writing aside until everyone is gone for the day. I try to slip in another hour of writing, until it’s time to make dinner.

It’s hard to find a quite place in my home to write. I finally said to my husband in exasperation, “I need a place to escape, I need to concentrate on creating.” It’s hard to create when you are pulled in so many different directions.

Several years ago, we built a 50×40, two-story office/shop next to our home. We didn’t do much with the upper level, so over the past few weeks my husband and brother have been sawing and banging away. They are building me a place to escape too, my very own studio. How sweet is that? How exciting!

I will keep you posted on when I finally have the space to myself. Then, let the creativity begin…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About megansjohnston

A freelance writer and entrepreneur living in the Pacific Northwest. In addition to writing fiction, she runs several family-owned and operated businesses, which she started over twenty years ago. She is an avid reader of paranormal romance and a member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. She has four children and seven grandchildren and lives with her husband and two dogs in Woodinville, Washington. Transition is her début novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

