Interview With Author, Su Williams


May 18 Megan Johnston

Dream Weaver Banner

me n tink

I want to thank Su Williams for being here with us today and sharing a few things about herself

and her new debut novel, Dream Weaver.

Dream Weaver cover cropped final

To Read an excerpt from her new novel, please click below

 PDF DW excerpt

I have a few questions that I would like to ask you Su and I am sure the readers would love to know.

1.      What inspired you to write this novel?

I finished the Twilight Saga right before I started writing. I hadn’t written anything of consequence in many years. I loved her stories and her characters.

I loved Stephanie Myers Twilight series myself, she is a wonderful inspiration to other authors.

2.      What sparked the idea for Dream Weaver?

Dream Weaver didn’t have a title at the beginning and started out as another vampire story. My daughter, Sarah protested. So I started thinking about what other kind of immortal I could create. I wanted something that hadn’t been done to death.

3.      What was the hardest part to write in the book?

I would definitely say the assault scene. This is a YA book and I knew I had to handle the scene and aftermath very carefully. I researched other YA books with rape fiction and went to a rape crisis website called RAINN. It’s not a subject I take lightly, so it was very important to me how I handled it. So far, reviewers have commented that I handled the sensitive subjects in my book very well.

4.      If you could change one thing since your novel was written, what would it be?

Ugh. I cringe at the thought. I spent five years on Dream Weaver and the journey was a learning journey-info I can use and already have on hand for the next book. I’m not sure I would change anything unless a publisher told me to.

5.      Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

Wow. I’m going to have to think on that one….I believe the chicken came first. Oh, sorry that wasn’t the question. I think Nickolas was the first thing that captured me. He led me into the story and guided my way.

6.      Do you outline?

No, though I’m sure it would help. I tell people my writing style is a ‘puker’ because I get random scenes at random times and throw them up on whatever random piece of paper I can get my hands on and tie them all together later. I did what I call a skeleton with Dream Weaver. I tracked the action and sequence of events in the story. It helped me to see if I was getting my story arc complete and maintaining action within each chapter.

7.      Do you write from personal experiences?

Yes. I’ve used several experiences and manipulated them a bit. The memories from Emari’s father came from my Dad’s journal. Some of the family traditions are traditions of my own family.

8.      What part of your novel was the most fun to write?

I did say that the story was originally going to be a vampire story but that got nixed. But I did get to one vampire scene. I think it’s my favorite scene.

9.      Were you aware of how the novel would end when you started it?

Yes. As a matter of fact, the end was first thing I wrote. I just had to figure out how to get there.

10.  What author would you compare yourself to?

Yikes. I’d love to compare myself to greats like Maggie Stiefvater or Lisa McMann but I can only say that these authors were some of my greatest inspiration. I’ll leave to the fans to make any comparisons.

Megan, thank you so much for hosting me on your site. I enjoyed your questions. Some of them have been enlightening even to me. I’ve made Dream Weaver available for ONLY .99 on Amazon Kindle and B&N,  so I hope readers will make the tiny investment for it. So far, Dream Weaver has gotten very good ratings. It holds a 4.2 out of 5 star rating on Amazon, and a 4.42 stars on GoodReads.

My only question to your readers now is…Do You DARE TO DREAM!?

Many thanks,

Su

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dream-Weaver-Novels/
http://www.dreamweavernovels.com
http://dreamweavernovels.blogspot.com/

Your so very welcome Su, and thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to be with us here today. If you would like to purchase Dream Weaver, you can go here to purchase.

About megansjohnston

A freelance writer and entrepreneur living in the Pacific Northwest. In addition to writing fiction, she runs several family-owned and operated businesses, which she started over twenty years ago. She is an avid reader of paranormal romance and a member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. She has four children and seven grandchildren and lives with her husband and two dogs in Woodinville, Washington. Transition is her début novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

